Well, I’ve been sick with one of those things that’s been going around.  Low fever, cough–mostly at night, nasal congestion, and very tired and spacey.

As you might guess, when I get sick, I pull out all my acupressure tricks.  But what is most helpful is just poking around.  After all, there are 365 “official” acupressure/acupuncture points on the body, but many hundreds more unofficial ones all over.  I figure, when I’m lying in bed, suffering from a cough and stuffed up head, I have nothing to lose.

So, for example, in the last few days, I’ve been pressing points all over my face around my eyes and nose where I’ve been feeling lots of pressure and discomfort.  Everyday, there are different points that respond to the pressure; where I get that distinct balance of pain-pleasure that allows me to take an extra deep breath.

  • along the bridge of the nose
  • points along the inner eye socket, starting at the inner eye (careful not to poke my eye, of course): these points can be extremely tender, so be gentle
  • right along the eyebrow ridge