Springtime is a season of new beginnings and of renewal. An important part of that process is letting go of those things and ideas that no longer serve us, to make room for the new.

Thus, a perfect time for Spring Cleaning.

For people like me who have a difficult time of letting go of stuff, spring cleaning can be stressful, even when I know I don’t need that thing anymore.

clear your clutterclear your clutter

 A little book called Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui has helped me to let go. The most helpful part of the the book is that it helps you identify why you have clutter; when you know that, it’s easier to de-clutter.

For example, I tend to save stuff because I can’t stand the thought of wasting something that’s still useful. Therefore, my strategy for letting go is to find a new home for the thing I no longer use. For example, a bunch of back issues of a yoga magazine recently found their way from my bookshelf to a new yogini. It was as easy as listing on Craigslist!

How is this related to acupressure? Think about the places you carry your stress; those places have a lot of stuck energy. For me, it’s in my shoulders, and when they are tight, my head gets foggy, my mood gets heavy… I get stuck. I get relief when I press acupressure points related to my shoulders. In the same way, stuff in my home or office that’s just sitting around and taking up room can get the energy of the home or office stuck. Feng shui is like acupressure for your home.

  • Are there stuck places in your home or office?
  • Do you have things that no longer serve you?

Craigslist and Freecycle are great resources for giving things away, in addition to local charities and non-profits that could use your stuff. Also for clothes, consider organizing a clothes swap for friends who are about the same size as you.